Stays insured by

AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE

Language exchange holidays in Kilkenny, Ireland

Ireland
Kilkenny
English
From 750 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Patricia in Ireland

Welcome to PATRICIA

Hi
We are a family of 4 living in the fabulous countryside area of Ballintemple just 10 mins drive from Tullow town. Both working professionals Garret in Biopharmaceuticals, myself as a triage nurse/midwife part time working from home.

Arthur is 16 and Geoffrey is 15 attending the local Community School. It’s a large spacious home.

Generally busy so daily walks if time permits in a beautiful country off road area. Twice a week we attend a running club in Carlow. Arthur is a keen athlete and we run a 5 km on a Saturday morning with the local park run. We are members of Mount Wolseley Leisure club and attend once or twice a week for training or swimming. Also members of our local Tennis club. Geoffrey goes to tai quondo 2 evenings a week and you can join him if you so wish.

We are real lovers of good wholesome fresh foods. Garret has a polytunnel and grows organic potatoes, carrots, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, etc. Delicious! I have a lady who comes to help in the house twice a week to ensure life runs smooth.

We have hosted over the years and had regular full immersion students and school attending and it's always been a great experience for both parties. We are a normal hard working committed couple to our family. Lots of tracks and trails in our area for walks and mountain bike use.

Kilkenny city is 30 minutes, Carlow town is 20 minutes drive, Dublin 65 minutes by car. Bus and train connections to Dublin from Carlow town. Local camps for soccer, football, Tennis during summer months.

  • Houseold:
  • PATRICIA (Mother )
  • GARRET (Father )
  • GEOFFREY (Child • 15 ans)
  • Arthur (Child • 17 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
4 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adults (woman - man)
  • Groups and families

We provide a high standard of care and supervision to anyone who is in our home and treat them as a family member and include them in all family activities. Swimming and Tennis is 8 euro extra per session. Summer camps cost approximately 70 euro extra per week.

Collection from airport can be arranged for an extra fee. Bus service is also available directly from the airport to Carlow town, guests can be collected from there.

Proposed activities:

Your Irish immersion experience :
A typical day with us

On a day off, it typically starts with an activity such as a run or walk at home, followed by a relaxed and healthy breakfast. Then, perhaps some tennis or a swim in Tullow. Sometimes, we go for coffee or lunch at Altamont Gardens nearby, and do some grocery shopping.

Generally, we prefer to have dinner at home in the evening, but occasionally we will eat out in Carlow or Kilkenny.

On our days off, we enjoy going to Curracloe beach, which is a 50-minute drive away, or to Glendalough in Co Wicklow, which is a fabulous scenic national park. When we have time, we like to sit down together and watch a Netflix movie. We have a basketball area at the house, which is a good distraction for the boys. We also have mountain bikes for the local tracks and nearby forest.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    2 Bernese mountain dogs
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    9km

Paid options organized by the family

Meet and return to airport by private car with host.

  • Paid activities
  • Swimming per session
  • Tennis per session
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Dublin Airport

Comments of previous guests

JJ

Une semaine avec cette merveilleuse famille !

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Jj
  • -
  • on May 17, 2024

Jeune lycéen de 17 ans, j'ai cherché un famille dans laquelle aller pendant une semaine de mes vacances afin d'améliorer mon anglais. Je repart non seulement plus fort en anglais mais aussi extrêmement ravi de ce séjour chez eux. Trish m'a accueillie chaleureusement dès mon arrivé, faisant attention à ce que je passe le meilleur séjour possible. J'ai pu prendre part au quotidien de leur famille, faire des activités très intéressante et découvrir la gentillesse des Irlandais. Je recommande vivement cette famille en espérant moi même pouvoir y retourner.

Manon

Séjour fantastique au sein de la famille !

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Manon
  • -
  • on Apr 4, 2024

Jeune adulte de 29 ans, je recommande vivement Trish et sa famille d’accueil, qui avait plutôt l’habitude d’accueillir des étudiants ou enfants. J’ai passé 10 fabuleux jours au sein de la famille , qui a été vraiment attentionnée afin que je passe un bon séjour auprès d’elle en me faisant participer à la vie quotidienne de la famille. Cette expérience incroyable auprès de cette chaleureuse famille m’a permis de passer de bonnes vacances et d’améliorer mon anglais.

linda

Séjour 10 jours chez Trish

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Linda
  • -
  • on Dec 5, 2022

Bonjour, Nous pouvons recommander chaleureusement Trish et sa famille pour l’accueil réservé à notre fils Johan durant les vacances de la Toussaint. Johan a beaucoup apprécié l’ambiance chaleureuse et animée et nous avons eu de très bons contacts avec Trish pour préparer le voyage.

View all reviews
Display less reviews

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 750 € / week

Your stay at Patricia 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74