Stays insured by


Language Immersion Stay at Maryline's

From 400 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Maryline in France

Welcome to Maryline

We are a bilingual family of now 5, my 3 (fairly grown-up) children, my husband John and I. We live in a country house located in the woodlands, not far from Bergerac and about 20 minutes from the local airport.
My husband is an IT consultant/database architect and often works abroad. Translator/Interpreter by profession, I have been working as a part-time elementary school teacher for the past few years, both in the UK and here in France. We often move between the UK and France and are currently residing in the latter. Both my husband and I are also TEFL/ESP certified.
Two of my older children work in Bergerac and my youngest goes to Lycée also in Bergerac.
Once a fairly large family (5 children), we enjoy having people around. We accommodate vegetarian/vegan and meat eaters alike as we have all trends in our family although the veggies have the upper hand. We attach a lot of importance to food and source ours locally and preferably organic.

  • Houseold:
  • Maryline (Mother )
  • John (Father )
  • Joshua (Child • 22 ans)
  • Elodie (Child • 20 ans)
  • Elias (Child • 17 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adults (woman - man)
  • Seniors (woman - man)
  • Couples

We can host siblings or friends in a shared room or separate single rooms. We also have a double room for couples.

Your English immersion experience :
A typical day with us

A typical day definitely involves sightseeing the many beautiful sites Dordogne has to offer after a hearty breakfast which can be a full English with bacon and eggs as well as a veggie/vegan option. Being fairly sporty and active, we like to go for walks/hikes, runs, and water activities such as swimming or canoeing within season.
We have friends from both English and French-speaking circles and like to socialize and eat together.
We take regular trips to the Atlantic Ocean and Bordeaux which is about an hour from here.
If required, we can also plan English/French lessons during the week and my husband can teach for more specific purposes (IT, Business-related vocabulary).
After breakfast we usually do a few chores, maybe some light gardening and housekeeping. If English lessons are required, we will find time in the mornings to sit down for an hour or so for some fun learning. We usually have a light lunch, English style, with a selection of sandwiches and organic homemade salads. We always eat our meals outside in the summer unless it's really hot and uncomfortable. Picnics are always fun too and sometimes we will incorporate them into a daily excursion. Afternoons will include activities such as going for a swim, canoeing, sightseeing, tree climbing, and other local activities, etc. The evenings are usually spent at home for a homemade, wholesome supper prepared and shared by all followed by reading, chatting, playing games, watching movies, or spying the odd shooting stars especially in August. At some point during the week, we also eat out with (English-speaking) friends or at a local night market such as the one in Eymet or Bergerac (over the summer season only).

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    2 dogs and 2 cats
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Not much of a service but about 800 meters away

Paid options organized by the family

Most activities can be done and organized according to the guest's wishes.

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Bergerac
  • Bordeaux

Comments of previous guests


Séjour très agréable

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Benedicte
  • -
  • on Jun 9, 2024

Super famille, tous très agréables, activités très sympas. Merci Maryline et ses enfants pour cette super semaine. Et progrès en anglais certains.


Un formidable séjour

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Corinne
  • -
  • on Apr 19, 2024

Mes enfants ont été enchantés de leur séjour chez Maryline. Une hôte très attentionnée. Sa famille est formidable avec une mention spéciale pour sa fille ainé que les enfants ont adoré. Le site est fabuleux, avec plein d'équipements ludiques dans le jardin qui ont réjouis les enfants. Entre visites, pique-nique avec d'autres familles, équitation, trampoline etc. Les journées se sont déroulées sous le signe de la convivialité et de la détente, avec en prime, un film en anglais le soir! Nous remercions très sincèrement Maryline et sa famille pour leur gentillesse. Nous avons retrouvés des enfants enthousiastes ! A recommander sans hésiter.

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 400 € / week

Your stay at Maryline 's home
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74