Stays insured by

AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE

Language Immersion Stay at Sophie's

France
La Roche-sur-Yon
French
From 415 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Sophie in France

Welcome to Sophie

Immersion in a French family in the Vendée countryside!
I'm Sophie. I'm 52 years old. I live in Vendée in La Réorthe, 30 minutes from La Roche-Sur-Yon, 40 minutes from Puy du Fou, 1 hour from La Rochelle, and 1 hour and 10 minutes from Nantes.
I work in the well-being field (hypnosis, organizing well-being workshops, massages, etc.) in my home-based practice.

My oldest children, who are 23 years old, have left the nest!
I live with my 17-year-old daughter who is in high school. She will take the Baccalauréat in 2024.
She practices judo and is interested in computer science, judo, and many other subjects.

We have 2 cats and a dwarf chicken.
We are available to host teenagers or adults of all nationalities for a friendly stay in our spacious house with a large garden.

I have decided to host foreigners in order to discover and share another culture, another way of life, another way of thinking, and different traditions and habits.
You will be considered as a family member and will participate in family life and its organization.

We have already hosted an Australian and two Austrians for several months (through an association). We have also been a host family for young Mexican students studying in France. We have welcomed young people for short stays of a few days.

If you are motivated to improve your French, open to the world, pleasant, tolerant, willing to share your culture, and engage in a new experience, we look forward to welcoming you!
It is important that your priority is learning the French language and discovering life in France.

I will be happy to welcome you to France and share our daily life with you for a few days! I also want to help you learn French effectively.
I have taught French in England for a year in the past.

We live in a 200m2 house with 6 bedrooms. Families can be accommodated in the same room.
We have a 3000m2 garden which we enjoy on sunny days. We set up garden furniture, sun loungers, etc.
We have a small wooded area where we set up hammocks, which we especially enjoy during hot weather.
In the summer, we can also enjoy a private pool 3 km away.

We do not have a television, and there is no wifi in the bedrooms (only in the living room).
We provide our books for your use.

The house is non-smoking and non-vaping. We allow smoking in the garden.

If you think you will enjoy the tranquility of the countryside, then write to us soon... I am already looking forward to meeting you!

See you soon!

  • Houseold:
  • Sophie (Mother )
  • Orlane (Child • 16 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
7 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adults (woman)
  • Seniors (woman)
  • Couples
  • Groups and families

We welcome teenagers from 13 years old.
We welcome children between 10 and 13 years old only if they are accompanied (by a sibling, family member, parent, etc.) to be discussed.
We welcome children under 10 years old only with at least one of their parents.
We welcome families with pleasure. We accommodate a maximum of 3 people at a time, unless it is a family or individuals who know each other because we can accommodate up to 7 people.

We have the possibility to accommodate at the same time brothers and sisters, friends or couples who want to share an experience in France.
We can also accommodate families. In this case, you can choose to be accommodated in a single or shared room.

In the case of hosting several people at the same time without any connection between them, we guarantee that you will be from different countries to not hinder the learning of French and accommodated in a single room.

We can accommodate a maximum of 3 people without any connection between them, and we can accommodate up to 6 people if they are families or friends.

Proposed activities:

Your French immersion experience :
A typical day with us

We live in the Vendée countryside, in La Réorthe, a village of 1100 inhabitants. It is a rural village. There is a very small supermarket. The nearest shops are 10 km away. We live 50km from the ocean.
Our department, Vendée, is known for its hot summers and mild winters (snow and frost are rare) and its culinary specialties, such as the Vendée brioche...Yum!

We have a simple life.
We enjoy walking in the countryside or forest.
We like board games.
We like reading, gardening, DIY projects.
We enjoy baking cakes or cookies and trying out new recipes. You will be able to learn how to make one or more French recipes to share with your family when you return...
We like to make the most of the outdoors, depending on the weather, and visit family.
We do geocaching.
We sometimes go to the municipal swimming pool, bowling alley, and cinema.
We go to the beach occasionally.
We enjoy going to Puy du Fou Park, twice voted "Best Theme Park in the World".

You can join in all or some of our activities (according to your preferences).

A typical day during your stay (subject to change):
9am/9:30am: Breakfast
10am: French lesson if you have chosen this option
11am: Free time
12pm/1:30pm: Lunch preparation + Lunch
Between 2pm and 6pm depending on the day: Free time or Included/paid activity
7pm/8:30pm: Dinner preparation + Dinner
9:30pm: Rest

The stay includes:
* Accommodation in a single room (or shared if desired) with free access to the garden
* Help with the French language in daily exchanges
* Meals according to the chosen option (breakfast, lunch, dinner)
* Participation in meal preparation
* One activity together each day, to be adjusted according to the age of the guest, season, and everyone's preferences (walk, creative art, board game, gardening, DIY, beach, introduction to geocaching, outdoor activity, or a cultural/sport activity (with supplement). Everything is an opportunity for conversation in French!

Activities are suggested but not mandatory! You can also choose to relax or engage in independent tourism during the day if you have a vehicle and are over 18.

Most of the time we eat our meals as a family. We cook very little meat or fish (maximum once a week). Our meals are mostly vegetarian.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    2 cats and 1 chicken
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    7 km

Paid options organized by the family

With a supplement, we can pick you up and drop you off:
- From La Roche Sur Yon train station = 25€ (including round trip)
- From La Rochelle airport or train station = 80€ (including round trip)
- From Nantes airport or train station = 80€ (including round trip)

Not included in the base price (= additional cost to consider = Bring pocket money for your stay):
* Cultural and sports outings: cinema 9€, bowling 10€ per game, Puy du Fou 53€, municipal pool 5€, escape game 25€, museums 5 to 15€, studio yoga classes 10€...
* French lessons: 15€/hour or package 80€/6 hours or package 150€/12 hours)
* Wellness sessions: Ayurvedic Massage Sarasvati = Detoxifying belly massage (30 mins) 40€ or Energy treatment (45 mins) 50€

In addition to the family environment in which you will evolve and improve your French language, I offer more specific French lessons (15€/hour à la carte or package 80€/6 hours or package 150€/12 hours). This will need to be defined before your arrival.
These lessons are not mandatory, they depend on your expectations.
I have taught French in a high school in England.
I enjoy providing academic support. My elders were homeschooled for several years. I will be happy to guide you in learning French.

At no extra cost, we offer laundry washing and drying once a week.

  • Airport or station pick-up
  • La Roche Sur Yon
  • Nantes
  • La Rochelle

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 415 € / week

Your stay at Sophie 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74