Language Immersion Stay at Josie 's

From 810 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter

Welcome to Simeon and Josie's home

Hi, we are Josie, Sim and Sasha and we live in a lovely rural traditional farm house in the Dordogne. Sim is a musician/improviser and owns a wonderful coffee business in our local town and I am a keen gardener, forager and wild-crafter and am currently studying traditional herbalism. I also make all the delicious food we sell on the coffee van. We have three beautiful children, Max (24), Soloman (17) and Sasha (15). Our boys have now spread their wings and are living in the Uk while our daughter is still at home with us enjoying her teenage years, learning french and attending a local school. As well as spending much loved time at home we enjoy days out exploring, walking, foraging and picnicking in our beautiful surroundings. We are lucky to live in an area that offers loads of fun activities for all ages and all weather such as swimming lakes, laser tag, trampolining, bowling, canoeing, parcours adventure and much more. We have a vegetable garden where we try to grow much of our own organic food and also have a dog, 2 cats and chickens. Our cats live outside and do not come in the house so please don't let that put you off if you suffer from cat allergies. We love spending our evenings sitting round the open fire ( either inside or outside) chatting, playing games and making/listening to music. We also love having movie nights with homemade popcorn and snuggy blankets (in english). I am not a trained english teacher ( although I do have teaching experience as a yoga teacher and teaching a class 9-11 yr olds in a Waldorf Steiner inspired home-ed setting for a couple of years) but if you would like to have lessons in the mornings I am happy to give it a go and help in whatever way I can. We offer a warm, relaxed, laid back, fun-loving family environment with plenty of fun filled days, friendly conversation and fresh, wholesome home cooked meals. If you would like to join us for a bit please don't hesitate to get in touch.

  • Houseold:

  • Simeon (Father )
  • Sasha (Child • 17 ans)
  • Josie (Mother )

Max number of hosts at the same time:

2 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman - man)
  • Senior (woman - man)
  • Couple

In order to guarantee that our guest receive a full immersive homestay we guarantee that we will not host another homestay guest of the same nationality for the duration of your stay. We will of course make an exception for families, couples and siblings.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

A typical day in our house consists of ... A healthy breakfast taken at the kitchen table (or outside if the weather is nice enough) to start the day. A full english breakfast is most definitively on the cards at some point during your stay as is a Canadian pancake breakfast with blueberries (if in season) and maple syrup ( I grew up in Vancouver, Canada and have dual citizenship). After breakfast we usually do a few chores such as walking the dog, feeding the animals, watering the polytunnel and veg gardens and maybe some light gardening and house keeping. If english lessons are required we will find time in the mornings to sit down for an hour or so for some fun learning. For lunch we usually have a simple fair such as fresh veg from the garden and eggs from the hens (we eat meat but are happy to accommodate individual dietary needs). We always eat our meals outside in the summer unless its really hot and uncomfortable. Picnics are always fun too and sometimes we will incorporate them into a daily excursion. Afternoons are full of fun and will include activities such as going to the lake for a swim, canoeing, site-seeing and eating ice-cream, adventure tree climbing etc. Then home for a delicious, homemade, wholesome supper prepared and shared by all followed by an evening of relaxation, reading, chatting, playing games, listening to music or watching movies.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    a dog, 3 cats and chickens

Paid options organized by the family

As previously stated I am not a trained language teacher but I do have previous teaching experience in other subjects. I am happy to offer casual lessons if requested.

We are happy to pick up and drop off from Bergerac airport/train station.
We can pick up /drop off from Bordeaux airport/train station for an additional cost.

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • canoeing
  • accrozarbres
  • indoor laser tag
  • bowling
  • Parc Le Bournat
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Bergerac
  • Bordeaux

Comments of previous guests


Sorry for the late review

  • 5/5
  • -
  • M
  • -
  • on May 5, 2023

J'ai passé un moment incroyable avec cette famille, et cela va bien au-delà de l'amélioration de mon anglais. Dès mon arrivée, je me suis senti complètement intégrée et acceptée en tant que membre de la famille. Mes parents d'accueil ont non seulement pris soin de moi, mais ont également fait tout leur possible pour me présenter à leurs amis et veiller à ce que je me sente inclus dans toutes leurs activités. Ma mère d'accueil Josie, m'a enseigné les herbes et la cuisine. Mon père d'accueil Sim, quant à lui, m'a montré comment jouer au ping-pong (pas au “table tennis table” - inside joke), comment tondre la pelouse (ce que j'ai fait très mal) et comment préparer une tasse de café anglaise parfaite. Ce ne sont là que quelques-uns des souvenirs que je chérirai pour toujours. Je suis vraiment reconnaissante envers cette famille pour leur accueil et leur bienveillance. Merci encore pour tout !


the best holidays

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Yvan
  • -
  • on Oct 31, 2022

Une semaine incroyable avec une famille incroyable, Rempli de moments inoubliables. Pour la première fois de ma vie, j’ai pris du plaisir à apprendre l’anglais. Félicien.


Séjour bref mais productif

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Yvan
  • -
  • on Oct 31, 2022

Les vacances d’automne ne durent qu’une semaine à Genève. Malgré tout Félicien est rentré transformé de ses quelques jours chez Josie, Sim et Sasha. Il s’est senti bien accueilli, ne s’est pas ennuyé une seconde et nous revient heureux et décomplexé sur son anglais. Désormais il peut tenir un échange alors qu’au départ il savait à peine aligner 2 mots. En seulement 7 jours. C’est fort. Très fort.


An amazing stay!

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Isabelle
  • -
  • on Jul 22, 2022

J'ai passé un superbe séjour chez Simeon et Josie. J'ai partagé leurs activités (marché, dîners entre amis -anglais-, canoë, balades dans la région, jardinage, cuisine...). Leur maison est magnifique avec un très beau jardin, au milieu d'un site exceptionnel. You will love it ! Plus qu'un séjour linguistique, c'était aussi une très belle rencontre... je le recommande pour les adultes autant que pour les adolescents (Sacha, 16 ans, is great !) La Dordogne is the best english place in France I guess!

View all reviews
Display less reviews

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 810 € / week

Your stay at Josie 's home
PRICES and OPTIONS available by clicking on the BOOK button.

Need some help ?
We speak English:
     00 337 49 08 56 74