LinguiFamily

Language Immersion Stay at Krista's

United Kingdom
Londres
English
From 260 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

NEW - Welcome to Krista's home.

FEMALE ONLY STAY
There's only me. And my cat. I have been a homestay host since the 1970s! so I have met a lot of different nationalities and ages but prefer adults now I'm older. I have 1-2 Japanese guests who return regularly. It's peaceful and conducive to work/study at my home. Occasionally I have my large family around for parties-usually in my long garden-then it is noisy! I am a retired Primary school teacher. I am a gardener-I like to grow vegetables too. I enjoy music from around the world. I like a clean tidy house, I am very accepting and welcoming. My cat is a little timid but she is gentle, she will check you out but probably not let you touch her!
We live in East Barnet-5 minutes from transport and 5 minutes from local shops. It's about 30-40 minutes travel-time from central London (depending on where you want to go). My nearest OVERground train station is Oakleigh Park. The nearest Tube stations are a 20 minute walk away-either Totteridge and Whetsone Station or Cockfosters Station. But the local overground trains connect with the tube at Finsbury Park; you can be there in 10 minutes.

  • Houseold:
  • Krista (Other )
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 18-25 years old (girl)
  • Adult (woman)
  • Senior (woman)
  • Couple

There is only 1 shower/toilet (though I have plans to add another toilet). Therefore only 1 or 2 guests. There is a double bed and one single underneath which can be put up if needed.
I am happy to have a parent and their older childm My bathroom is NOT suitable for a younger child.

Since I generally only have one guest, that won't be a problem. Occasionally, there might be a Japanese guest who will use the small room, but she will only be there for 1-2 weeks, and I will not have another Japanese-speaking guest while she is there.

A typical day with us

I am retired, I am at home a lot. In good weather, I might work in my garden. I do not go out a lot, except for short walks or cycle rides (my exercise). I often go to local shops, and one afternoon a week I volunteer at a local place that runs services for the elderly. If you want to volunteer, there are many local charity shops you can work in. I often do laundry because I do my elderly parent's laundry as well as my own. My life is not exciting, but it is peaceful - mostly. You will need to make your own visits and entertainment, but you may use my garden! I do not visit London's attractions often anymore, but I can advise about them and the transport links. I do occasionally go out with family members as well, sometimes to see my son's band play in a local pub! Each summer, there is a local weekend festival with local musicians and a fun fair. The local park is very nearby, and the cinema is a short bus ride away. My local shops are just essential amenities, but there are some good local shopping centres a bus ride away. Enfield is best for shops, but High Barnet has some lovely walks passing historic old homes and churches and going through woods and public greens. (see the photo below with a white gate & white houses in it).

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    A cat.
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Less than 5 minutes walk away! Trains in one direction, buses in the other.

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 260 € / week

Your stay at Krista 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     00 337 49 08 56 74