Stays insured by

AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE

Language Immersion Stay at Yvonne's

Ireland
Kildare
English
From 660 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Yvonne in Ireland

Welcome to Yvonne

There are six in our family. I’m an English teacher in a secondary school and John works as a sales representative. Dylan is in his twenties and works as an operative. Amy and Leah are seventeen. They love sports and play GAA football. Maya is thirteen and also loves all sports, including soccer, GAA football, hockey, and swimming. John enjoys gym and golf and watching all sports. I love walking and the gym, travel, reading, and Pilates.
We live on the outskirts of a large village, near two bigger towns. There are buses connecting the village to these towns and to Dublin city.
We have hosted students since 2013 and have had over 40 students staying in our home from Spain, France, Russia, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, and America. Students stay either for some or all of the academic year or for shorter stays. We have hosted academic students each year since 2013 and shorter-term students since 2014.

Please contact me by message before you make a reservation to ensure our availability and we can offer you what you require. Thank you.

Summer 2024:

**Fully booked July 7th to August 19th**

Academic year August 2024-May 2025:

Full availability for after Christmas (January until June 2025).

We are booked for French speakers from August 22nd-Christmas 2024 for an academic stay.

Availability for shorter stays from September to December 2024 for non-French speakers or an academic stay for non-French speakers.

(Note Linguifamily: please contact us for school stays trimester/semester/year)

  • Houseold:
  • Yvonne (Mother )
  • John (Father )
  • Dylan (Child • 27 ans)
  • Amy (Child • 17 ans)
  • Leah (Child • 17 ans)
  • Maya (Child • 13 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adults (woman - man)
  • Seniors (woman - man)

For academic students, I can host 13-18 year olds, boys or girls.
I can organise work experience in our locality and/or an academic stay in a secondary school.
I can offer a work experience stay for older teenagers and young adults, similar to what Irish students experience in their fourth year of secondary school, along with some family activities.
There are two language schools locally. Students have found the classes really beneficial, either as a daytime activity or alongside work experience.
I am unable to facilitate an immersion experience with no structured activities for younger children or teenagers.

I can help you find information about a particular place in the local private school where I work. Just let me know what you're looking for.

I can also arrange work experience opportunities for older teenagers in various local businesses. Students have found this experience to be very enjoyable.

Proposed activities:

Your Irish immersion experience :
A typical day with us

On a typical school day we go to work and school before 8am. In the evenings, we go to training sessions for sports, for walks with the dog, to the gym and to matches to support the girls and their various teams. The two older girls are also busy in the evenings preparing for their final year exams in June 2025.
We love to explore new places and nature. At weekends, there are always sports matches and events. We sometimes go for trips, outdoors to attractions or indoors to the cinema, activity centres or shopping centres. The older girls work part-time in a local hotel at weekends and over school holidays. I have a large extended family so there are often family occasions to attend.
We also enjoy watching films and all kinds of sports. We love food, so cooking and baking are a key part of our days and weekends.

(Note Linguifamily: for school stays trimester/semester/year, please contact us for quotes and information)

  • Private room
  • Pets and animals:
    A dog Cooper, a Cockapoo and a cat, Rosie
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Beside the house

Paid options organized by the family

I can organize excursions for you if you have any requirements.
Gym membership is available for €60 per month if you are staying longer.

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Courses in language schools
  • Paid activities
  • 10 Gym passes
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Dublin airport
  • Newbridge bus or train station

Comments of previous guests

Sandrine

Très bon séjour chez Yvonne et sa famille!

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Sandrine
  • -
  • on May 5, 2024

Quentin a passé quinze jours chez Yvonne et sa famille. Il a partagé la vie de la famille (salle de sport, match) et est revenu enchanté de son séjour. Yvonne est très sympa et généreuse. Elle communique très bien, elle est très réactive. Quentin a travaillé dans une épicerie, c'était une bonne expérience à tous les niveaux, nous n'hésiterons pas à le renvoyer chez Yvonne pour un prochain séjour. Un grand merci à toute la famille !

Mireille

Super séjour chez Yvonne

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Mireille
  • -
  • on Apr 17, 2024

J'ai passé un excellent séjour chez Yvonne : elle m'a accueillie avec beaucoup de générosité et m'a aidé à planifier mes sorties ( visites ou randonnées ) et à gérer les transports, et cela même avant mon arrivée. J'ai pu partager la vie de la famille, avoir des discussions avec Yvonne et John et découvrir le football gaélique! Je recommande chaudement cette famille!

Lesne

Super séjour en Irlande

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Lesne
  • -
  • on Apr 4, 2024

J'ai 17 ans et j'ai passé 3 semaines et demi au sein de cette famille pour un séjour linguistique en mars 2024. Yvonne et John ont été très accueillants et m'ont aidé tout au long de mon séjour à trouver des activités telles que des visites de villes et de musées pour occuper mon temps libre. Bien avant mon arrivée, Yvonne avait recherché et trouvé trois jobs (chez un libraire, dans un magasin de seconde main et chez Aldi) pour me permettre de faire un maximum de rencontres et profiter de mon séjour pour pratiquer l'anglais. Leurs 4 enfants sont aussi très sympas et j'ai passé de bons moments avec eux, notamment lors de la Saint-Patrick ! Je reste en contact avec Yvonne et John et prévois de leur rendre visite lors d'un prochain voyage en Irlande. Je recommande vivement cette famille.

sylvain

Avis mitigé concernant le séjour de 15 jours de notre fille chez Yvonne

  •          
  • 2/5
  • -
  • Sylvain
  • -
  • on Mar 21, 2024

Notre fille de 14 ans a passé 2 semaines chez Yvonne en Février 2024. Il y a eu de bonnes choses et d’autres beaucoup moins bonnes. Points positifs : Yvonne est une personne sympathique, avenante et un bon professeur d’Anglais pour les cours particuliers. Comme elle est professeur dans le Collège de sa fille, Marie a été intégrée durant 1 semaine dans ce Collège, c’était un plus certain. L’objectif de progression en Anglais a été atteint. Points négatifs : Marie n’a pas du tout été intégrée dans la Famille. Seule Yvonne lui a adressé la parole régulièrement durant ces 15 jours. Le soir la Famille regardait la télévision en fermant la pièce n’incluant pas notre fille, et lors des repas personne ne lui adressait la parole ! La jeune fille de l’âge de Marie l’a totalement ignorée au point de ne pas même lui dire « bonjour ». Les 2 premiers jours, notre fille est restée de longues heures dans sa chambre livrée à elle-même. Lors d’une fête d’anniversaire dans une autre Famille, ce qui aurait pu être une bonne expérience, à en fait été un grand moment de solitude, car les jeunes sont partis à l’extérieur sans proposer à Marie de les accompagner, et les adultes l’on laissé seule à attendre dans un coin de la pièce. D’autres expériences similaires ce sont produites, comme une sortie en piscine ou Marie était seule pendant que la Famille faisait de la gymnastique dans une autre salle, ou le fait de déposer Marie dans un centre commercial, en lui disant qu’elle pouvait faire son shopping toute seule, et qu’Yvonne reviendrait la chercher au bout d’une heure (Marie a 14ans !), lorsqu’elle aurait terminé ses courses pour ses enfants. Conclusion : Notre fille s’est sentie seule et invisibilisée dans cette famille, en dehors de la période du Collège ou elle a pu être en contact avec d'autres jeunes. Elle a pensé que cette attitude était peut-être dû au fait que cette Famille reçoit des étudiants à la chaine toute l’année. Pour l’anglais nous recommandons, mais pour l’intégration Familiale nous déconseillons.

Anne

Yvonne et sa famille sont incroyables et je recommande sans hésiter de réaliser un séjour chez eux

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Anne
  • -
  • on Jan 17, 2024

Yvonne est d'une grande générosité, gentillesse, réactivité. Elle est très organisée et active. J'admire son investissement et sa patience. Elle nous a aidé pour l'inscription au collège, l'uniforme, les livres scolaires, les inscriptions aux sports, le forfait téléphonique, etc...Nous avons échangé plusieurs messages et photos, ce qui était très rassurant et sympathique. Nolwenn s'est très vite intégrée dans la famille. Elle a noué une relation très forte avec Maya : quelle chance de l'avoir rencontrée et d'avoir lié une telle complicité ! La maison est très belle et proche du collège en voiture. Le séjour de Nolwenn à été une expérience extraordinaire et Yvonne et sa famille y ont grandement contribué. Un grand merci à eux ❤️

Allison

An amazing family

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Allison
  • -
  • on Sep 18, 2023

If you had to choose between Yvonne's family or any other family, I would tell you to go to Yvonne's house with your eyes closed. I spent 2 weeks and a half there, and I think that I had the most awesome experience ever. I was really integrated in the family, as if I had been there for years and years, and that helped so much with the fact that I was far from my home and family. Yvonne did so much amazing things for me ! I did a work experience in two differents shops, that I both enjoyed so much. I participated to so many activities with them, I really felt like a part of the family !!! Thanks a milion for everything Yvonne <3 SI vous aviez à choisir entre Yvonne et n'importe quelle autre famille, je vous dirais d'aller chez Yvonne les yeux fermés. J'y ai passé 2 semaines et demie et je pense que j'ai vécu l'expérience la plus géniale de ma vie. J'étais vraiment intégré dans la famille, comme si j'y étais depuis des années et des années, et cela m'a beaucoup aidé du fait que j'étais loin de chez moi et de ma famille. Yvonne a fait tellement de choses incroyables pour moi ! J'ai effectué un stage dans deux magasins différents, que j'ai tous les deux beaucoup apprécié. J'ai participé à tellement d'activités avec eux, je me sentais vraiment comme faisant partie de la famille !!! Merci infiniment pour tout Yvonne <3

Stéphanie

Très bon séjour chez Yvonne/ Enjoy your stay with Yvonne

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Stéphanie
  • -
  • on Aug 1, 2023

Notre fille de 16 ans a passé 2 très bonnes semaines chez Yvonne. Elle a été très bien accueillie et intégrée à la famille. Elle a pu aller également en classe quelques jours ce qui fut une experience enrichissante. Enfin, elle a également découvert la ville et ses environs. Yvonne a été très disponible et a répondu à nos questions, je recommande son accueil./ Our 16-year-old daughter spent 2 very good weeks with Yvonne. She was very well received and integrated into the family. She was also able to go to school for a few days, which was an enriching experience. She also got to know the city and its surroundings. Yvonne was very available and answered all our questions. I recommend her hospitality.

View all reviews
Display less reviews

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 660 € / week

Your stay at Yvonne 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74