Stays insured by


Language Immersion Stay at Krista's

United Kingdom
From 260 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Krista in United Kingdom

NO AVAILABILITY in Krista`s house UNTIL 2025

No availability for the rest of 2024.

There`s only me. And my cat. I have been a homestay host since the 1970s! so I have met a lot of different nationalities and ages but prefer adults now I`m older. I have 1-2 Japanese guests who return regularly. It`s peaceful and conducive to work/study at my home. Occasionally I have my large family around for parties-usually in my long garden-then, and only then, it is noisy! I am a retired Primary school teacher. I am a gardener-I like to grow vegetables. I enjoy music from around the world. I like a clean tidy house, I am accepting and welcoming. My cat is a little timid but she is gentle,she will check you out but probably not let you touch her!
We live in East Barnet-5 minutes from transport and 5 minutes from local shops. It`s about 30-40 minutes travel-time from central London (depending on where you want to go). My nearest OVERground train station is Oakleigh Park. The nearest Tube stations are a 20 minute walk away-either Totteridge and Whetsone Station or Cockfosters Station. But the local overground trains connect with the tube at Finsbury Park;you can be there in 10 minutes. I do not give lessons but I will always help with a student`s homework and explain correct English;I will try to be be tactful when I do this.
SORRY but FEMALE GUESTS ONLY ( unless it`s a small boy-child accompanied by a Mother.)

  • Houseold:
  • Krista (Other )
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 18-25 years old (girl)
  • Adults (woman)
  • Seniors (woman)
  • Couples

There is only 1 shower/toilet (though I have plans to add another toilet). Therefore only 1 or 2 guests. There is a double bed and one single underneath which can be put up if needed.
I am happy to have a parent and their older childm My bathroom is NOT suitable for a younger child.

Since I generally only have one guest, that won't be a problem. Occasionally, there might be a Japanese guest who will use the small room, but she will only be there for 1-2 weeks, and I will not have another Japanese-speaking guest while she is there.

Your English immersion experience :
A typical day with us

I am retired, I am at home a lot. In good weather I might work in my garden. You may use my garden for relaxing! I do not go out a lot, except for short walks or cycle rides (my exercise). I often go to local shops and one afternoon a week I volunteer at a local place that runs services for the elderly. If you want to volunteer, there are many local Charity shops you can work in. My life is not exciting but it is peaceful - mostly. You will need to make your own visits and entertainment. I do not visit London's attractions often anymore but I can advise about them and the transport links. I do occasionally go out with family members - sometimes to see my son's band play in a local Pub! Each summer there is a local weekend Festival in June or July with local musicians and a Fun Fair, the local park is very nearby and a cinema is a short bus ride away. My local shops are just for essentials but there are some better local shopping centers a bus ride away. Enfield is best for shops but High Barnet has some lovely walks passing historic old homes and churches & going through woods and public greens. (see the photo below with a white gate & white houses in it).

  • Private room
  • Pets and animals:
    A cat.
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Less than 5 minutes walk away! Trains in one direction, buses in the other.

Comments of previous guests


bon séjour à Londres

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Nathalie
  • -
  • on Mar 13, 2024

Je suis venue avec ma fille de 15 ans. Le séjour s'est très bien passé, nous avons beaucoup visité Londres, si bien que nous n'avons pas beaucoup été à la maison. Les échanges avec Krista ont été bien sympathiques. Pour aller au centre de Londres c'était facile, les transports sont pratiques.

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 260 € / week

Your stay at Krista 's home
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74