Practice English at Bernie's, Ireland

Language immersion trips in Ireland

Translate with Google
Bernie & Mark

Hi, we are so pleased to meet you, We are a fun, professional, experienced family. Who love to keep busy each day. Our home is a friendly, caring environment and it's a non-smoking household and we are all police vetted. Each day of your stay will be a fantastic day, packed with things to do and see. I have qualifications in Childcare and child protection. We live in a small town, just outside Waterford City, it’s called Tramore, Just 15 minutes drive away. The beach is a 10 minute walk from our home. Tramore can provide all you need for a memorable stay. There are many activities to choose from locally surfing, horse-riding and Tennis. During the summer season we have lots of visiting tourists who enjoy a traditional seaside experience of ice-cream, fairground and many cafe's and holiday shops. The main attraction is surfing, which can be done all year round. Enjoy the culture and history of the attractions Waterford City provides, such as the Crystal Visitor Center and Waterford Medieval Museum of Treasures and the Virtual Reality Experience. We will be happy to organise days out when you arrive. hopefully your stay with us will be lots of fun, exiting, and memorable. But most importantly, we hope, you will feel at home in our home. You will become part of our family and hopefully you will have enjoyed your experience while visiting the beautiful Green Isle. I'm sure you will be a little bit Irish by the time you leave for home!!

Motivations

We have been hosting guests for the past 15 years. We enjoy meeting guests with different cultures as we are interested in learning about their lifestyle and values. Our family home is suitable for guests of all ages who would like to immerse themselves in the Irish lifestyle and improve their conversational skills and leave as confident individuals. All you need to do is integrate yourself totally and bring home many happy memories, to share with your friends. We can also cater for some specific diets.

Our family
Bernie mother 47ans female
Mark father 51ans male
Clara child 21ans female
Conor child 19ans male
Pets at home

2 happy, friendly small hypoallergenic dogs. Millie and Bonnie (suitable for guests with allergies)

Available activities
Bike ridesBike rides
Board gamesBoard games
Cinema, filmsCinema, films
Cultural visitsCultural visits
Hikes and ridesHikes and rides
Music (listen to)Music (listen to)
Other activityOther activity
Video gamesVideo games
KayakKayak
SurfSurf
SwimmingSwimming
Further information

Airport return transfer cost - €180

Paid activities

Horse-riding - €25 Surfing - €30 Go-Karting - €30 Cycling - €20 All the other activities are FREE including Shopping.

A typical day at home

During the summer months, we like to stay busy each day doing different activities whether it's hiking up the mountain or a nice swim on the beach, we usually enjoy taking a picnic with us. During the winter months it's up and out for school/college at 8am. Home dinner for 6/7pm. Guests are encouraged to either meet with friends at weekends or attend the local gym or do any other interesting hobby. Guests will be taken on a trip once a month to visit places of interest.

Home & neighbourhood
Single room : Yes
Distance to the nearest public transport :
2 minute walk
Our house :

Our home is a semi-detached house, with 4 bedrooms, bathroom. Downstairs is kitchen/dining/sun-room, sitting room, games/TV room, utility and toilet. We also have front and back gardens. We live on a quite estate. Everyone gets on well together and we all look out for each other. Tramore is a seaside town with a population of 12,000. It is 10 km from Waterford which is a historical city.

Hosting preferences
Further information

3/4 guests at the same time. Smoking outside only.

Hospitality fees
Currency : EUR
Price per week : 400
Price for an extra-week : 400
Price per month : 1600
Price for optional activities : 1600

Further informations : Above are SUMMER RATES taking bookings now for June, July and August 2020. Winter rates are different. Bus to and from school 20 minutes €32 each month. Further information: Taking bookings for Academic places available for September to end of May 2020: €11,000 ALL FEE'S INCLUDE: - AIRPORT TRANSFERS - SCHOOL REGISTRATION - SCHOOL FEE'S - SCHOOL BOOKS - SCHOOL UNIFORMS Payment plans available. Flights to Cork or Dublin Airport.

Host Family’s Responsability

The family agrees to the Charter of Trust

5 reviews

Très bon séjour chez Bernie et Mark !

Audrey, June 2019

Mon fils a passé un séjour chez Bernie et Mark l'été dernier. Il a été très très bien accueilli, a beaucoup apprécié les activités proposées. J'ai reçu des photos et vidéos de mon fils régulièrement de leur part. Une très belle expérience ! Encore mille mercis pour lui !!
Je recommande vivement cette agréable famille !

Une famille chaleureuse et active

Sophie, June 2019

Notre fils aîné a fait 2 séjours chez Bernie et Marc et il est revenu tellement content de ses vacances que c'est maintenant son frère cadet Aymeric qui part pour la deuxième fois.
Bernie et Marc mettent très vite leurs hôtes à l'aise. Des activités quotidiennes et variées sont proposées et des rencontres entre jeunes organisées. Nous recommandons vivement !

Des supers vacances !

Isabelle, June 2019

J'ai trois filles et les deux ainées sont déjà parti chez Bernie et Mark à trois reprises. A chaque fois elles sont rentrées ravies de leur séjour dans cette famille où elles se sont tout de suite senties comme chez elle.
Maintenant c'est au tour de Zoé d'aller passer 15 jours de vacances chez eux.
Mark et Bernie ont toujours été très prévenants et soucieux de rendre leur séjour le plus agréable possible en passant beaucoup de temps avec elles et en les intégrant complètement à leur vie de famille. Elles ont fait de gros progrès en anglais !
C'est sans hésitation que je recommande un séjour chez Bernie et Mark !

Una experiencia inmejorable

MARIA CARMEN, June 2019

Mi hijo lleva 3 años seguidos repitiendo en la casa de Bernie y Mark. Son muy amables y acogen muy bien a los invitados. Las actividades son muy variadas y divertidas, una gran oportunidad de mejorar el inglés.
Además Bernie mantiene el contacto con la familia para ir comentando como va la estancia.
Lo recomiendo totalmente, son como una segunda familia para tus hijos

Thanks for all Bernie and Mark

Giacomo, June 2019

I spent a lot of time in this beautiful country with this fantastic family. I just want to say how much i have enjoyed your hospitality, your capacity of making everything curious and fun. Even with the cloud for me was a sunny day in Tramore.
The thing that i apriciate most is that you treate your students like your sons, so you feel like at home.
The organization is fantastic, every day you do something different, it can be a sport, a trip to another city, even a walk to the mountains, you will do a full immertion experience in the Luck Country.
I recommend a holiday of, at least, two weeks.