LinguiFamily

Language Immersion Stay at Sophie's

France
La Roche-sur-Yon
French
From 415 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

NEW/NOUVEAU !!! Welcome to Sophie's! Welcome to Vendée!

Immersion in a French family in the Vendée countryside!

I am Sophie. I am 51 years old and I live in La Réorthe, Vendée, 30 minutes from La Roche-Sur-Yon, 40 minutes from Puy du Fou, 1 hour from La Rochelle, and 1 hour and 10 minutes from Nantes.
I work in the wellness field (hypnosis, organizing wellness workshops, massages, etc.) in my home-based office.

My eldest children, who are 22 years old, have left the nest!
I live with my 16-year-old daughter who is in high school. She will be taking her Baccalauréat this year.
She practices judo and is interested in computer science, particularly coding, and many other subjects.

We have two cats and a dwarf chicken.

We are available to welcome teenagers or adults of all nationalities for a friendly stay in our spacious house with a large garden.

I have decided to host young foreigners in order to discover and share another culture, another lifestyle, another way of thinking, and other traditions and customs.
You will be considered a member of the family and take part in family life and its organization.

We have already hosted an Australian and two Austrians for several months (through an association). We have also been hosts for young Mexican students studying in France. We have received young people for short stays of a few days.

If you are motivated to improve your French, open-minded, pleasant, tolerant, and willing to share your culture and engage in a new experience, we look forward to welcoming you!
Your priority should be learning the French language and discovering life in France.

I will be happy to welcome you to France and share our daily life with you for a few days! I also want to help you effectively learn French.

We live in a 200m2 house with 6 bedrooms and a 3000m2 garden, which we enjoy during the warmer months. We set up garden furniture and sun loungers there... We also have a small wooded area where we hang hammocks, which we particularly enjoy during hot weather.
During the summer, we can also enjoy a private swimming pool 3 km away.

We do not have a television, and there is no WiFi in the bedrooms (only in the living room). We make our books available.

The house is non-smoking and we do not allow vaping. We tolerate smoking in the garden.

If you think you will enjoy the peacefulness of the countryside, then write to us quickly... I am already looking forward to meeting you!

See you soon!

  • Houseold:
  • Sophie (Mother )
  • Orlane (Child • 16 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
6 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman)
  • Senior (woman)
  • Couple
  • Groups and families

We accept teenagers from 13 years old.
We only accept children between 10 and 13 years old if accompanied (brother, sister, family, parent...) to be discussed together.

We have the possibility to accommodate at the same time brothers and sisters, friends or couples who want to share an experience in France.
We can also accommodate families. In this case, you can choose to be accommodated in a single or shared room.

In the case of hosting several people at the same time without any connection between them, we guarantee that you will be from different countries to not hinder the learning of French and accommodated in a single room.

We can accommodate a maximum of 3 people without any connection between them, and we can accommodate up to 6 people if they are families or friends.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

We live in the Vendée countryside, in La Réorthe, a village of 1,100 inhabitants. It is a rural village. There are no shops. The nearest shops are 10 km away. We live 50 km from the ocean.
Our department, the Vendée, is known for its hot summers and mild winters (snow and frost are rare) and its culinary specialties, such as the Vendée brioche... Yum!
We have a simple life.
We enjoy walking in the countryside or in the forest.
We like board games.
We enjoy reading, gardening, and DIY.
We like to make the most of the outdoors, depending on the weather, and visit family.
We do geocaching.
We sometimes go to the municipal swimming pool, bowling alley, and cinema.
We go to the beach from time to time.
We enjoy going to the Puy du Fou Park, voted "Best Theme Park in the World" twice.
We like to bake cakes or cookies and try new recipes. You can learn how to make one or more French recipes to share with your family when you return...
You can join in all or part of our leisure activities (according to your preferences).
A typical day during your stay (may vary):
8:30/9:00 AM: Breakfast
9:00 AM: French lessons if you have chosen the option
10:00 AM: Free time
12:00 PM/1:30 PM: Lunch preparation + Lunch
Between 2:00 PM and 6:00 PM, depending on the day: Included or paid activity + Free time
7:00 PM/8:30 PM: Dinner preparation + Dinner
9:30 PM: Rest
The stay includes:
* Accommodation in a single room (or shared if desired) with free access to the garden
* Assistance with the French language in daily exchanges
* Meals together according to the chosen option (breakfast, lunch, dinner)
* Participation in meal preparation
* One activity together per day, to be adapted based on the age of the guest, the season, and everyone's desires (walk, creative art, board game, gardening, DIY, beach outing, introduction to geocaching, outdoor activity, or cultural/sporting activity with extra cost). Everything is an opportunity for conversation in French!
The activities are suggested, but not compulsory! You can also choose to use your free time to explore independently if you have a vehicle and are over 18 years old.
Most of the time, we have our meals as a family. We rarely cook meat or fish (maximum 1 time per week).

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    2 cats and 1 chicken
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    7 km

Paid options organized by the family

With an additional fee, we can pick you up and drop you off:
At La Roche Sur Yon train station = €25 (including round trip)
At La Rochelle airport or train station = €70 (including round trip)
At Nantes airport or train station = €80 (including round trip)

Not included in the base rate (additional fee to be expected = Prepare pocket money for the stay):
*Cultural and sports outings: cinema €9, bowling €10 per game, Puy du Fou €53, municipal swimming pool €5, escape game €25, museums €5 to €15, yoga classes in a studio €10...
*French lessons: €15/hour or package €80/6 hours or package €150/12 hours)
*Well-being sessions: Ayurvedic massage Sarasvati = detoxifying belly massage (30 min) €40 or energy treatment (45 min) €50

In addition to the family environment in which you will evolve and improve your French language, I offer more specific French lessons (€15/hour à la carte or package €80/6 hours or package €150/12 hours). This will be defined before your arrival.
These lessons are not mandatory, they depend on your expectations.
I have taught French at a high school in England.
I enjoy providing academic support. My older children were homeschooled for several years. I will be happy to guide you in learning French.

Without any additional charge, we offer laundry washing and drying once a week.

  • Airport or station pick-up
  • La Roche Sur Yon
  • Nantes
  • La Rochelle

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 415 € / week

Your stay at Sophie 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     00 337 49 08 56 74