Stays insured by

AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE

Language Immersion Stay at Donna's

United Kingdom
Brighton
English
From 995 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Donna in United Kingdom

Welcome to Donna & John's home. *5h English lessons included*

We are Donna, John & Oscar the mad Spaniel x Collie dog! I have hosted Students for many years and am also a foster carer. My husband John works full time as a Signwriter/ Installer. We live in Worthing 5 minutes from the beach ! We like countryside walks, seaside walks, cooking & card games. John is a keen All Blacks fan as he was born in New Zealand. We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • Houseold:
  • Donna (Mother )
  • John (Father )
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (boy)
  • 18-25 years old (boy)
  • Adults (man)
  • Groups and families

I have an extra bed and can accommodate 2 friends in the same room if required.

Only student if desired although we are willing to take 2 friends if desired also.

Proposed activities:

Your English immersion experience :
A typical day with us

ONE HOUR ENGLISH LESSON INCLUDED FROM MONDAY TO FRIDAY + ACTIVITIES
A typical day can be tailored to your needs. I usually walk Oscar mid-morning, either at the beach or on one of the many beautiful countryside walks in our area. If you need lessons, we can schedule them before lunch or later in the day. Afternoons are a good time to explore the local area. There are many interesting places to visit nearby. The city of Brighton is only half an hour away by bus or train. There, you can find Brighton Pavilion, Brighton Pier, and many interesting museums. Worthing itself also has a pier and a beautiful coastline that you can explore on foot or by borrowing one of my bicycles. Arundel, with its amazing castle, is also only half an hour away by car or train. We usually have dinner around 7/8 pm and spend the evening relaxing, maybe watching a movie or playing card games. John is also a keen chess fan if you feel like playing a game!

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    Spaniel x aged 4
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    5 min walk

Paid options organized by the family

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Gatwick Airport

Comments of previous guests

Xavier

Two amazing weeks with Donna and John!

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Xavier
  • -
  • on Jul 9, 2023

Donna and John were very welcoming, I felt good since the first moment, like if I was part of the family. They are very nice, Donna asked me if everything was good, if I wasn’t bored but it was never the case because I did and I learnt a lot of things ! I learnt things such as the pronunciation of new sounds for me (I’m French), I also learnt phrasal verbs and English expressions. (very useful !) Donna knows how to adapt her lessons according to the English level. I also learnt many different things, for instance: John explained to me the rules of the cricket, I watched the classic English sitcom “Only fools and horses”. I cooked and ate traditional dishes and I loved them, therefore I will do it again at home ! Worthing is eclectic there are: the Channel, a swimming pool, museums, parks (with skateparks !), the pier with the seafront, a cinema, a theatre. Thanks to the Donna’s bike all those things are close to the home. At forty-five minutes in bus there is Brighton, a city with many different and interesting things such as the Brighton Palace Pier with rides, the Royal Pavilion (really worth it !), the Brighton museum, the Laines district (must see !)… The dog, Oscar is very funny and sweet. He was the last to accept me in the family… thirty seconds after I walk into his home.

Seulki

Stay with Donna

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Seulki
  • -
  • on Aug 5, 2022

I was really lucky to stay with Donna. Everytime she asked me if i was okay/ if there is something uncomfortable/ how was in school etc…. she always cared me with heart and be patient teaching and correcting my english written in a diary. It helped me A LOT I still have it at home and her miss your food - potato, beef, green bean ahah !

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 995 € / week

Your stay at Donna 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74