Language Immersion Stay at Dawn 's

From 615 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter

Dawn’s farm

Hello, thank you for reading my profile.
I have been a teacher since 1986! I love teaching and decided to bring my skills and experience to France to share with French students, both young and older.
I live on a small farm with my 3 cats, dog, turkeys, and sheep. It’s fair to say that it’s a great place to live, work and study. My children have flown the nest and live in the UK.
Students who join me can choose to help on the farm if they want to and it's great fun to tend to the lambs.
Otherwise, we can make visits to museums, art galleries, castles and many other places of interest, the local area is exciting with its range of tourist attractions.
My home is warm and comfortable with healthy food and plenty of fresh air. I hope to welcome you soon.

  • Houseold:

  • Dawn (Mother )

Max number of hosts at the same time:

4 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman - man)
  • Senior (woman - man)
  • Couple
  • Groups and families

I am happy to host 1 pupil or up to 4 family or friends.

I am very happy to provide a 1:1 or group for an English homestay and language course.
I am a fully qualified teacher. My qualifications are:-
a 2:1 Honours Degree from Leeds University,
Certificate of Education from Department of Education UK (1987)
and a TEFL course (2019).
It is necessary to book lessons with this stay.
For example per week minimum -
10 hours of lessons + 3 visits/activities
15 hours of lessons + 2 visits/activities
20 hours of lessons + 1 visit/activity

Half day visits are ones that are within 15km for fuel cost and cover the entry fees for student and myself.
Full day visits are ones which are over 15km and/or cover the cost of entry fees for both the student and myself.
The student chooses their visits from the many places available depending on their budget and interests.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

The day starts about 9 am depending on the season. There is flexibility due to the individual needs/ preference of the student and the needs of the farm.
Depending on the time of year, students can help with a variety of tasks for example, mucking out , feeding, watering, stacking hay, clearing weeds, bottle feeding lambs, building fences and doing minor repairs.
Lessons generally start at 9.30 if we are staying home but may be in the afternoon if the weather dictates.
We cook our meals together whilst talking or singing along to pop music. Family life means helping to clear and wash up after cooking and eating, so we can get onto fun stuff quicker. I am happy to provide a wide variety of menus which I discuss with my students. However any food allergies or intolerances must be discussed prior to booking.
Afternoon trips out take place to a variety of attractions both sports and culture, all dependent on the interests of my students. I love to swim, walk, cycle, horse ride, and visit interesting places.
Sometimes we stay home all day, sometimes we go out all day, sometimes we do part and part. Flexibility is the key to take advantage of the weather, attraction availability and our energy levels. In the evenings we can star gaze, watch a film or play games. I enjoy playing cards and board games. I'm happy to teach you to knit or crochet a scarf or gloves to take home, maybe even a snowman or pumpkin.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    Cats, dog, sheep, turkeys
  • Nearest public transport stop:

Paid options organized by the family

I live on a working farm. The students must love animals and the outside active life as some of the day will be spent on the farm and farm activities. The 3 cats, 42 sheep, 2 turkeys and 1 dog also need daily attention. The safety and welfare of the student is my priority at all times. If an animal is unwell or needs routine attention during a student’s stay this is given and the lessons and visits are worked around it.

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • Horse riding
  • Swimming
  • Local cultural trips
  • All day cultural trip
  • Acrobranche
  • Canoe
  • Lazerquest
  • Bowling
  • Ice skating
  • Crazy golf
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Thouars
  • Saumur
  • Poitiers
  • Cholet
  • Anger

Comments of previous guests


Excellente professeure d'anglais - cours et séjour à la ferme

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Maxime
  • -
  • on Feb 18, 2023

Notre fils Gaspard (14 ans) a passé 1 semaine chez Dawn qui est une femme au quotidien naturellement joyeuse et bienveillante. Les cours dispensés par cette ancienne prof étaient de qualité et elle ne parle qu'anglais tout le temps même avec les parents. Un compte rendu détaillé de leurs journées et des progrès réalisés par Gaspard nous a d'ailleurs été présenté lorsque nous sommes venus récupérer ce dernier. De plus, les options de sorties souscrites à l'inscription lui ont permis de faire découvrir à Gaspard de merveilleux sites touristiques aux alentours de sa ferme (zoo troglodyte, musée blindés + résistance). De plus Gaspard qui aime les animaux s'est éclaté avec les chiens, chats, pintades ainsi qu'avec la trentaine de moutons présents sur site. A refaire et à conseiller sans hésiter, merci Dawn


Je recommande

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Jennifer sunseeahray
  • -
  • on Aug 30, 2022

Madame Dawn est une femme bienveillante qui a très bien accueilli ma fille , qui a été à l’écoute , qui a su la guider et l’aider. Elles ont fait de merveilleuses activités tout en pratiquant l’anglais . Elles ont visité des châteaux . Le cadre est idyllique et chaleureux . Ma fille a fait une immersion de deux semaines en anglais ce qui lui a été très bénéfique . Madame Dawn est une très bonne enseignante et une très bonne pédagogue . Ma fille a des souvenirs pleins la tête . Merci Oïlossé, 14 ans


Je recommande

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Loïse
  • -
  • on Apr 23, 2022

Dawn est une personne chaleureuse, bienveillante et à l‘écoute de nos envies ! Chaque activité pratiquée en anglais permet d’acquérir du nouveau vocabulaire et parfois aussi de découvrir la culture britannique ! Le tout dans un cadre magnifique! De merveilleux souvenirs ! Loïse B, 15ans - 2nde


Je recommande vivement

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Capucine
  • -
  • on Apr 7, 2022

Je recommande vivement Madame Dawn B. pour un stage en immersion d'anglais. Mon nom est Capucine et je suis actuellement en Terminale. L'été dernier, j'ai eu la chance d'avoir pu faire une immersion en anglais pendant deux semaines consécutives. Dawn est une très bonne professeure d'anglais j'ai pu énormément apprendre et m'améliorée dans cette langue en sa chaleureuse compagnie. De plus c'est une personne très accueillante, gentille, compréhensible, à l'écoute et présente en cas de soucis. Je n'ai eu aucun regret sur ma famille d'accueil et en garde un merveilleux souvenir. Cordialement , Capucine R.

View all reviews
Display less reviews

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 615 € / week

Your stay at Dawn 's home
PRICES and OPTIONS available by clicking on the BOOK button.

Need some help ?
We speak English:
     00 337 49 08 56 74