LinguiFamily

Language Immersion Stay at Mary Alice's

Ireland
Dublin
English
From 910 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Welcome to Mary Alice's household

We are a fun-loving family of 5. The father's name is Colm and he is a carpenter, and the mother's name is MaryAlice and she is an accountant. We have three children: Annabelle, 10 years old; Sam, 8 years old; and Sarah, 5 years old. We enjoy outdoor activities such as hill and woodland walking, cycling, and all sports. We all love cooking, and our youngest child Sarah especially enjoys baking!

We live in a restored farmhouse in the country, which was once part of a working dairy farm. Our residence is located at the foot of Mount Leinster, bordering on three counties - Carlow, Kildare, and Wicklow. We are surrounded by beautiful nature and have access to idyllic hill and woodland walks, as well as historic sites like Altamont Gardens, Glendalough, Russborough House, The National Stud, and Japanese Gardens. We are a short drive away from two large towns - Tullow in Co. Carlow and Baltinglass in Co. Wicklow - and about 20 minutes away from Carlow town itself.

We are animal lovers, especially dogs, cats, and horses. Our pets are an important part of our family, but they have their own designated area outside the home. Our property has large gardens with old trees, as well as a private family playground equipped with a trampoline, go-karts, and a zipline.

ABOUT US:
Annabelle – Our daughter Annabelle is a great student who loves learning about new cultures and languages. She is very artistic and has a strong love for animals, especially her dog. She enjoys soccer, cycling, basketball, reading, horse riding, and spending time with her friends. Annabelle is witty, always smiling, and always up for fun. She is also sensitive, thoughtful, and kind-hearted.

Sam – Our son Sam is an excellent student who constantly surprises us with fascinating facts about various subjects, including his own country and others. He shares our love for animals, especially his dog Rex. Sam is fascinated by wildlife and sea creatures, and he enjoys playing sports, particularly soccer. He is rarely seen without a ball in his hand! Sam supports Manchester United and loves playing Minecraft and FIFA on his PS4. He has a cheerful disposition, always smiling, and is great fun to be around. He also enjoys cycling, reading, and horse riding. Sam is a kind and thoughtful boy.

Sarah – Our youngest daughter Sarah is full of energy and always up for exciting adventures. She recently started school and is enjoying making new friends. Sarah is passionate about art, just like her older sister Annabelle. She loves sports, especially cycling and walking in the woods with her little dog Alfie. Sarah absolutely adores animals, particularly dogs and horses, and her favorite hobby is horse riding. She is a kind-hearted and extremely fun-loving girl.

SAFETY & COMFORT:
Both adults in our family have been fully vaccinated against Covid-19, and we strictly follow all government, school, and club guidelines related to safety and health. We understand that sending your child to a foreign country can bring up various emotions, including excitement, pride, and a sense of concern for their safety and well-being. We want to assure you that your child will receive a warm welcome in our home and will be treated like a member of our family. They will be included in all family activities and will be provided with home-cooked meals made with fresh and organic ingredients whenever possible.

  • Houseold:
  • Mary Alice (Mother )
  • Colm (Father )
  • Annabelle (Child • 13 ans)
  • Sam (Child • 11 ans)
  • Sarah (Child • 7 ans)
Max number of hosts at the same time:
2 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)

We can accommodate 2/3 students at a time and would be interested in taking siblings or friends/cousins together.

There will be no other guests of the same nationality during the stay.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

Weekend day: Family breakfast, walk in the woods with the dogs, some outdoor sports e.g. tennis, soccer, basketball. Healthy lunch and depart for special activity like a trip to the national stud in Kildare or Kilkenny castle or Dublin city sites etc. We are one hour from Dublin city. We are an extremely active family who love the outdoors. We are lucky to live close to many beautiful gardens and attractions of Ireland. We love a good movie night at the weekend too with popcorn and treats.
A typical school day would include breakfast with the family, then depart for school. Afterwards, we would usually go for a walk with the dogs and play some sports outside at home, weather dependent. Otherwise, we enjoy board games or table tennis indoors. The children also enjoy some TV time, PS4, or iPad time. We would always sit down as a family together for our evening meal. We enjoy family meditation time before bed.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    We have three dogs and 2 cats. All animals live outside in their own area.
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    1km

Paid options organized by the family

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • Swimming
  • Horse Riding
  • Cinema
  • Races
  • Amusement park
  • National Stud & Gardens of Ireland
  • Sport Camps
  • Football...
  • Pony Camp
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Dublin Airport one way
  • Dublin Airport Return

Comments of previous guests

justine

famille très attentionnée

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Justine
  • -
  • on Jul 17, 2023

Mary Alice a reçu à la perfection notre fille de 13 ans. Elle a su la réconforter et la considerer comme sa propre fille.

Adeline

The Irish dream !

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Adeline
  • -
  • on Jul 20, 2022

Romane, 14 ans, est revenue enchantée de son séjour chez Mary-Alice. Romane s'est sentie complètement intégrée à la famille. Elle a eu le privilège de partager de nombreux moments familiaux: activités sportives des enfants, bowling, balade sur la plage, baignade dans une rivière, Avondale Forest Park, et même la fête d'anniversaire de Sarah ! Mary Alice a prit soin de Romane comme de ses propres enfants. Romane est beaucoup plus à l'aise en anglais ! Ce séjour lui donne vraiment envie de recommencer l’expérience. Mary-Alice, son mari, Annabelle, Sam et Sarah resteront un souvenir merveilleux pour elle. Merci de lui avoir donné goût aux voyages, à l'ouverture...et aux autres ! Romane, 14 years old, came back delighted from her stay at Mary-Alice's house. Romane felt completely integrated in the family. She had the privilege of sharing many moments with the family: children's sports activities, bowling, walks on the beach, swimming in a river, Avondale Forest Park, and even Sarah's birthday party! Mary Alice looked after Romane like her own children. Romane is much more comfortable in English! This trip really makes her want to do it again. Mary-Alice, her husband, Annabelle, Sam and Sarah will remain for her a wonderful memory. Thank you for having given her a taste for travel, for openness... and for others!

FRANCOIS

Un séjour idéal

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Francois
  • -
  • on Jul 9, 2022

Mon fils Raphaël, 15 ans, a passé 15 jours chez Mary Alice et sa famille. Il a fait beaucoup d'activités, un camp foot, de l'équitation, une sortie à la mer.... Raphaël s'est senti très à l'aise chez cette famille très attentionnée, accueillante et bienveillante sans compter les animaux... Les nombreux échanges lui ont permis de progresser en anglais. C'est vraiment une famille digne de confiance.

Antti

So friendly

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Antti
  • -
  • on Jun 14, 2022

Our 14-year-old daughter stayed with Mary Alice’s family for 2 weeks and had so much fun. All kinds of activities: Riding, the outdoors, nerf wars etc. Very caring also, your child will be well looked after! Such a good and funny family!

Linda

Séjour chez Mary Alice

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Linda
  • -
  • on Nov 9, 2021

Mon fils de 12 ans est parti 2 semaines chez Mary Alice et y a passé un séjour de rêve . Il a été accueilli avec beaucoup de gentillesse et de bienveillance. Mary Alice, son mari et ses 3 enfants sont adorables! J'ai eu de nombreuses nouvelles et photos pendant le séjour. Mon fils s'est beaucoup baladé, a fait des visites, a joué avec les enfants et les animaux de la famille. Il est rentré ravi et est maintenant beaucoup plus à l'aise à l'oral en anglais. Rien de tel que de se retrouver en immersion pour progresser.

View all reviews
Display less reviews

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 910 € / week

Your stay at Mary alice 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     00 337 49 08 56 74