Language Immersion Stay at Catherine's

From 660 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Quality Charter
Your message:
For everyone's safety and the smooth running of the website, the content of messages is subject to moderation. It is forbidden to mention your name or personal details.
The contact details of your guest or host family will be sent to you by e-mail as soon as the booking is confirmed.
Please fill in this field

Welcome to Cathy's home

Hello and welcome! My family comprises of myself, my daughter Beth, aged 20 at university in London, and all of our dogs, ponies and horses. We love France and French culture and love rural Normandy. I taught English Language formally in the UK for over 6 years as well as online but feel language immersion is a wonderful and fun chance for a truly holistic language learning experience. Re: Covid 19 I am fully vaccinated against Covid and would request that the student also is fully vaccinated, or has received a clear test 48 hours before arriving. My home provides all the usual handwash and wipes, and is well aired/ ventilated.

  • Houseold:

  • Catherine (Mother)

Max number of hosts at the same time:

1 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman - man)
  • Senior (woman - man)

I am open to receiving single guests under 18 if they are independent minded and suited to/ will benefit from a country sejour here. In such a cases I will need to discuss the individual's suitability and needs with parents prior to booking to ensure everything is right for them.

No other guests.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

I live in rural Normandy en plein campagne! The day usually starts with coffee/hot chocolate/tea around 8am then going to the ecurie 8 minutes away to feed and turn out my 2 mares and foals, it doesn't take long and is a great way to start the day. You are welcome to stay in bed though if you prefer! Then home for a big breakfast followed by an English Language session to suit your needs or if you prefer some daily activities like walking the dogs.
There are always dogs who would like a ball game with you at any time! We can make lunch together, then enjoy a variety of outings - visits to local attractions, the Cascades at Mortain, the pottery or cider museums, Mont San Michel or we can visit my English friends for tea and a chat.
If you would like to stay home there are lovely walks in the woods beside my home, or you can help care for my shetland ponies here in the orchard.
In the evening you can help me put the mares and foals to bed in their stables, if you wish, and then we can prepare a nice dinner together.
At some stage , often the evening, my daughter will join us on Zoom for a chat from London if she is not here.
Otherwise evenings are quite quiet, perhaps we can choose a Netflix movie or sitcom in English with French subtitles, we can light the woodburner and chat, or have a catch up on the international news on Euronews or similar.
It is very rural and quiet here, and a sejour with me would best suit adult or independent minded young people who love the countryside, tranquility, nature and animals. I would be open to taking single students younger than 18 if they are independent and self reliant characters who will suit a country sejour, and I would need to discuss this with the parents before booking to ensure that it is right for them.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    small dogs, 2 Shetland ponies in the orchard
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    29 km

Paid options organized by the family

Vire or Villedieu-les-Poeles train station

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • Horse riding lessons

Comments of previous guests


The best teacher I could have ever asked for !

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Priscilla
  • -
  • on 2021/21/09

I’m a forensic Psychologist and I’ve decided to attend Catherine’s lessons for improving my Academic and working English. Catherine is the best teacher I could have ever asked for: she’s brilliant, always extremely kind and patient with me. During the lessons there’s always time for discussing new topics and learning something new from each other. The lessons are always super interesting for me and suited to my needs: Catherine is extremely attentive to details and she makes me feel comfortable even with my mistakes. Since I’ve started lessons with her, I surely improved my English, especially my fluency. I would recommend Catherine to all those not only interested in improving their English but also interested in meeting a great professional and person! Prisca



  • 5/5
  • -
  • Vitali
  • -
  • on 2021/21/09

Catherine perfectly organizes your stay according to your needs and preferences. The language learning process becomes easy, invisible, but intense. If you like animals and interesting conversations - welcome to Catherine.

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 660 € / week

Your stay at Catherine's home
  • E-mail verified
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Quality Charter
PRICES and OPTIONS available by clicking on the BOOK button.

Need some help ? Contact us at: