Stays insured by

AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE

Language exchange holidays in Vire-Normandie, France

France
Vire-Normandie
English
From 760 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Some texts are automatically translated. Some information is displayed in the original language.

Meet your host family: Catherine in France

Welcome to Catherine

Welcoming you in 2024! Hello and welcome to my family!! - that consists of myself, my daughter Beth, aged 22, who is just finishing her university course, and all of our dogs, ponies and horses. Come and have fun with us! We love France and recently moved back to Normandie from the south because we love it so much, and the horses and dogs prefer the climate! We are in a beautiful old pre Revolution French mansion with 5 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a games room, a tv room, two acres of land and much more. The house is full of fascinating history for those interested! The horses especially enjoy grazing in the orchard behind the house.
I am an experienced English Language teacher, I taught English Language formally in the classroom in the UK for over 6 years and still teach English online to a wide variety of students of all different ages and proficiencies. I love hosting students as I know language immersion stays are a very special and fun way to have a truly effective language learning experience.
My students always make great progress while enjoying the freedom of the countryside and helping with the animals if they wish to.
I have a First Class BA Hons in English Language and Literature (Trinity College Dublin) an MA in American Literature (Scholarship, Claremont Graduate School, USA) and from Oxford University an M. Litt (a research degree) in English Literature. I also recently completed another MA this time in Information and Libary Science.
I like to take things more gently now and especially enjoy helping students with their language needs. I am more than happy to provide you with tailor-made English Language classes (at an extra charge) to suit your specific goals.
Re: Covid I am fully vaccinated and my home provides all the usual handwash and wipes, and is well aired/ ventilated.
A sojourn with me best suits independent-minded young people or adults who like animals and are interested in a holiday in beautiful nature with horses and dogs.
My horses on site are retired, but for an extra charge I can take you to the excellent local equestrian centre.
Previous students have made great progress with their English in this relaxed and fun environment. They have loved meeting the horses and dogs, and helping with their daily care, perhaps giving them breakfast or putting them to bed at the end of the day, brushing and getting to know them.
In the evenings we can make some popcorn and watch a movie in English perhaps with French subtitles, play some board games or cards, or just relax and talk.
Please ensure that your student arrives on or after 2 pm of the day of arrival and leaves before 12 on the morning of departure as this helps greatly with the changeover. Thank you.

  • Houseold:
  • Catherine (Mother )
Max number of hosts at the same time:
4 people
  • Accept:
  • 10-18 years old (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years old (girl - boy)
  • Adults (woman - man)
  • Seniors (woman - man)
  • Couples

I am very happy to receive any guest who thinks they will benefit from a country sejour especially with horses and dogs in a historic house.

All rates are in Euros.

Proposed activities:

Your English immersion experience :
A typical day with us

Hello! We live in the countryside surrounded by our horses, ponies, and dogs and beautiful unspoilt countryside! We recently moved back here to Normandy after 2 years in Indre as we love Normandy so much. The day usually starts with coffee/hot chocolate/tea around 8 to 8.30 and then checking the horses, it doesn't take long and is a great way to start the day. You are welcome to stay in bed or have a hot chocolate though if you prefer! Then breakfast followed by an English Language session to suit your needs if requested, or, if you prefer, some daily morning activities like walking the dogs (There are always dogs who would like a ball game with you at any time!) or grooming the horses. For lunch, previous students have enjoyed helping me make traditional English meals or sharing recipes which we can cook together in English. Then in the afternoon, we can visit local attractions as there are local attractions nearby. In the evening, you can help me feed the dogs if you wish, and then share a nice dinner. Later we can make some popcorn and watch a movie in English perhaps with French subtitles or play some card or board games. Otherwise, in the evenings, we can light the woodburner and chat about your interests. A stay with me best suits independent-minded young people who like animals and nature.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    small dogs, young horses
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    4 minutes

Paid options organized by the family

I recently moved to a historic pre-Revolution house in Normandy. All of the rooms are warm and clean and full of history.
Guests wishing to book formal language lessons on top of the immersion stay are most welcome. Thank you.

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • Horse riding lessons at a fully insured equestrian

Comments of previous guests

Guy

Super expérience pour mon fils et une professeure parfaite

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Guy
  • -
  • on Mar 10, 2024

J'ai envoyé mon fils de 24 ans chez Cathy pour une semaine pendant les vacances de février avec des cours intensifs (3h par jour) afin qu'il soit préparé à partir à l'étranger dans le cadre de ses études d'ingénieur. Moi-même j'estime être très bon en anglais mais comme beaucoup de français travaillant avec des étrangers dont l'anglais n'est pas la langue natale je suis loin d'avoir un anglais académique. nous avons beaucoup échanger avec Cathy (en anglais bien sûr) pour définir les objectifs pour mon fils. Cathy a préparer les cours, m'a tenu informé régulièrement de ce qu'elle prévoyait comme enseignement, etc. un vrai suivi personnalisé et je la remercie énormément pour cela. Mon fils est rentré enchanté de son séjour. Le dépaysement de la campagne et de la demeure de Cathy a été pour lui un enchantement participant à son immersion complète. D'ailleurs dès son arrivée, seul l'anglais était utilisé pour communiquer. Cathy et sa fille ont intégré mon fils dans leur quotidien ponctué par les cours d'anglais. Quand mon fils est rentré j'ai pu me rendre compte à quel point il avait progressé. Je suis maintenant pleinement rassuré sur sa capacité à pouvoir partir et vivre seul à l'étranger pour ses études. Merci beaucoup à Cathy et sa fille. Je recommande chaudement cette famille.

Anne-laure

Belle expérience !

  •          
  • 4/5
  • -
  • Anne-laure
  • -
  • on Jul 5, 2023

《 notre fils de 13 ans et demi a passé deux semaines chez Catherine ; il était seul et a donc ainsi vraiment pu progresser en anglais. Catherine est une très gentille personne, notre fils s'est baladé à cheval dans la campagne environnante, a beaucoup joué avec les petits chiens, Catherine l'a emmené chez ses amies anglaises, chez un ami avec d'anciennes arcades de jeux en état de marche ( bonheur d'adolescent :), au restaurant... notre seule remarque serait que le confort de la maison est très sommaire, et le mode de vie très tourné vers les animaux,  donc ce séjour linguistique fut aussi une occasion de découvrir une autre façon de vivre. Une expérience positive et enrichissante pour notre fils!》

Priscilla

The best teacher I could have ever asked for !

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Priscilla
  • -
  • on Sep 21, 2021

I’m a forensic Psychologist and I’ve decided to attend Catherine’s lessons for improving my Academic and working English. Catherine is the best teacher I could have ever asked for: she’s brilliant, always extremely kind and patient with me. During the lessons there’s always time for discussing new topics and learning something new from each other. The lessons are always super interesting for me and suited to my needs: Catherine is extremely attentive to details and she makes me feel comfortable even with my mistakes. Since I’ve started lessons with her, I surely improved my English, especially my fluency. I would recommend Catherine to all those not only interested in improving their English but also interested in meeting a great professional and person! Prisca

Vitali

Perfect

  •          
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Vitali
  • -
  • on Sep 21, 2021

Catherine perfectly organizes your stay according to your needs and preferences. The language learning process becomes easy, invisible, but intense. If you like animals and interesting conversations - welcome to Catherine.

View all reviews
Display less reviews

You will also like

These families are also available

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone
  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 760 € / week

Your stay at Catherine 's home
from
to
Need some help ?
We speak English:
     +33 7 49 08 56 74