Language Immersion Stay at Bernie's

From 750 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Your message:
For everyone's safety and the smooth running of the website, the content of messages is subject to moderation. It is forbidden to mention your name or personal details.
The contact details of your guest or host family will be sent to you by e-mail as soon as the booking is confirmed.
Please fill in this field

Bernie & Mark

Hi, we are so pleased to meet you, We are a fun, professional, experienced family. Who love to keep busy each day. Our home is a friendly, caring environment and it's a non-smoking household and we are all police vetted. Each day of your stay will be a fantastic day, packed with things to do and see. I have qualifications in Childcare.

We live in a small town, just outside Waterford City, it’s called Tramore, Just 15 minutes drive away. The beach is a 10 minute walk from our home. Tramore can provide all you need for a memorable stay. There are many activities to choose from locally surfing, horse-riding and Tennis. During the summer season we have lots of visiting tourists who enjoy a traditional seaside experience of ice-cream, fairground and many cafe's and holiday shops. The main attraction is surfing, which can be done all year round.

Enjoy the culture and history of the attractions Waterford City provides, such as the Crystal Visitor Center and Waterford Medieval Museum of Treasures and the Virtual Reality Experience.

We will be happy to organise days out when you arrive. hopefully your stay with us will be lots of fun, exiting, and memorable. But most importantly, we hope, you will feel at home in our home. You will become part of our family and hopefully you will have enjoyed your experience while visiting the beautiful Green Isle. I'm sure you will be a little bit Irish by the time you leave for home!!

We have been hosting guests for the past 20 years. We enjoy meeting guests with different cultures as we are interested in learning about their lifestyle and values. Our family home is suitable for guests of all ages who would like to immerse themselves in the Irish lifestyle and improve their conversational skills and leave as confident individuals. All you need to do is integrate yourself totally and bring home many happy memories, to share with your friends.
We can also cater for some specific diets.

  • Houseold:

  • Bernie (Mother)
  • Mark (Father)
  • Clara (Child • 24 ans)
  • Conor (Child • 22 ans)

Max number of hosts at the same time:

4 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years (girl - boy)

3/4 guests at the same time.
Not hosting same nationality together, unless requested.
Smoking outside only.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

During the summer months, we like to stay busy each day doing different activities whether it's hiking up the mountain, Go-Karting, Kayaking, horse-riding, bowling, cinema, shopping, surfing or a nice swim on the beach, we usually enjoy taking a picnic with us.

  • Room shared with Another guest
  • Pets and animals:
    2 happy, friendly small hypoallergenic dogs. Millie and Bonnie (suitable for guests with allergies)
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    2 minute walk

Paid options organized by the family

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Courses in language schools
  • Paid activities
  • Surfing
  • Horse riding
  • Go-Karting
  • Cycling
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Dublin
  • Cork
  • Local bus station

Comments of previous guests


Un merveilleux séjour !

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Lucie
  • -
  • on 2019/23/09

J'ai passé un excellent séjour chez Bernie et cela m'a vraiment permis d'améliorer mon anglais. Bernie et marc m'ont très bien accueillis ils sont très gentils et je me suis bien amusée dans chaque activité proposée.


Un seul mot: extra !

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Flamine
  • -
  • on 2019/18/09

Mon fils Charles (16 ans) a passé un mois complet dans cette fantastique famille. Il est revenu enchanté !!! Bernie est adorable, Mark son époux également. La vie est douce au bord de la mer. Chaque jour, des activités sont prévues alternant la mer, les randonnées en montagne, le culturel, les loisirs. Charles a découvert toutes sortes de sports (baignades, poney, plongée, kayak, surf, vélo...), d'activités (karting, fête foraine, cinéma, bowling, escalade, restos...), des paysages superbes (lacs, montagnes, cascades...), des châteaux, un atelier de souffleurs de verre... et j'en passe ! Chaque jour, Bernie m'envoyait des photos, commentaires, vidéo, gifs... adorable ! Pour une première expérience, c'était formidable. Evidemment, toute la famille souhaite maintenant y aller ! Et j'attends les premiers résultats scolaires pour constater les progrès... qui sont inéluctables !!! Mille mercis à Bernie et Mark !!! Je recommande très vivement... au risque de perdre ma place l'année prochaine !


Thanks for all Bernie and Mark

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Giacomo
  • -
  • on 2019/19/06

I spent a lot of time in this beautiful country with this fantastic family. I just want to say how much i have enjoyed your hospitality, your capacity of making everything curious and fun. Even with the cloud for me was a sunny day in Tramore. The thing that i apriciate most is that you treate your students like your sons, so you feel like at home. The organization is fantastic, every day you do something different, it can be a sport, a trip to another city, even a walk to the mountains, you will do a full immertion experience in the Luck Country. I recommend a holiday of, at least, two weeks.


Una experiencia inmejorable

  • 5/5
  • -
  • -
  • on 2019/15/06

Mi hijo lleva 3 años seguidos repitiendo en la casa de Bernie y Mark. Son muy amables y acogen muy bien a los invitados. Las actividades son muy variadas y divertidas, una gran oportunidad de mejorar el inglés. Además Bernie mantiene el contacto con la familia para ir comentando como va la estancia. Lo recomiendo totalmente, son como una segunda familia para tus hijos


Des supers vacances !

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Isabelle
  • -
  • on 2019/13/06

J'ai trois filles et les deux ainées sont déjà parti chez Bernie et Mark à trois reprises. A chaque fois elles sont rentrées ravies de leur séjour dans cette famille où elles se sont tout de suite senties comme chez elle. Maintenant c'est au tour de Zoé d'aller passer 15 jours de vacances chez eux. Mark et Bernie ont toujours été très prévenants et soucieux de rendre leur séjour le plus agréable possible en passant beaucoup de temps avec elles et en les intégrant complètement à leur vie de famille. Elles ont fait de gros progrès en anglais ! C'est sans hésitation que je recommande un séjour chez Bernie et Mark !


Très bon séjour chez Bernie et Mark !

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Audrey
  • -
  • on 2019/12/06

Mon fils a passé un séjour chez Bernie et Mark l'été dernier. Il a été très très bien accueilli, a beaucoup apprécié les activités proposées. J'ai reçu des photos et vidéos de mon fils régulièrement de leur part. Une très belle expérience ! Encore mille mercis pour lui !! Je recommande vivement cette agréable famille !


Une famille chaleureuse et active

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Sophie
  • -
  • on 2019/12/06

Notre fils aîné a fait 2 séjours chez Bernie et Marc et il est revenu tellement content de ses vacances que c'est maintenant son frère cadet Aymeric qui part pour la deuxième fois. Bernie et Mark mettent très vite leurs hôtes à l'aise. Des activités quotidiennes et variées sont proposées et des rencontres entre jeunes organisées. Nous recommandons vivement !

View all reviews
Display less reviews

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 750 € / week

Your stay at Bernie's home
  • E-mail verified
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
PRICES and OPTIONS available by clicking on the BOOK button.

Need some help ?
We speak English:
    00 337 49 08 56 74