Language Immersion Stay at Adele's

France
Caen
English
From 660 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Your message:
For everyone's safety and the smooth running of the website, the content of messages is subject to moderation. It is forbidden to mention your name or personal details.
The contact details of your guest or host family will be sent to you by e-mail as soon as the booking is confirmed.
Please fill in this field

Nine years of hosting! TEFL qualified

We're a friendly, outgoing English family of three. We've lived in Normandy for thirteen years. So no need to travel abroad to improve your English!
Our interests include the arts, yoga, travel, reading, history, current affairs, animal welfare (volunteers at dog refuge), walking, cycling, swimming and cooking.
Our bilingual daughter attends Caen university studying languages. She attends the gym, plays piano and has interests in animal welfare and nutrition.
My husband has a passion for history and current affairs. He works in the UK but is home most school holidays and weekends.
I'm a qualified artist, painting in acrylics. I'm TEFL qualified and an enthusiastic cook. Students are invited to help in the kitchen. Meals are homemade, delicious and varied.

We offer fun cultural day trips to the many interesting local attractions.
For example Mont St Michel, Bayeux Tapestry, D-day beaches and memorials, day trip to Jersey Channel Island, Villedieu copper bell foundry, zoo, aquacentre, choices of many beautiful sandy beaches (25 mins drive away), House and Gardens of Christian Dior in Granville, St Malo, castles and chateaux.
Other activities include arts and crafts at home, cycling, dog walking, swimming, bowling, ice skating, escapade ( indoor climbing), crazy golf and accrobranches. Also pottery classes in Villedieu and horse riding at local equestrian centre. Outings depend on covid restrictions. We encourage students to create a 'scrapbook' as a record of their daily activities, day trips and menu. We have English television, Netflix and board games.

We've successfully hosted students for the past nine years and have found the experience very rewarding and enriching. We love to meet families from all over France, we very often remain in contact years later.
Some students arrive feeling nervous and timid with little confidence in speaking English. With total immersion in everyday English family life confidence grows in a warm, friendly, relaxed, welcoming environment. With one to one tuition, by the end of the sejour, the result is an improved understanding of the English language.
We understand students' needs are varied so the program is tailored to suit their requirements with a personalised itinery. Our aim is to ensure that all students experience a rich, happy and memorable sejour, learning the essential skills needed for exams and future studies, of speaking, reading and writing in English with confidence.

  • Houseold:

  • Adele (Mother)
  • Leslie Andrew (Father)
  • Maya (Child • 22 ans)

Max number of hosts at the same time:

3 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman - man)
  • Senior (woman - man)
  • Couple
  • Groups and families

Maximum 3 students, same nationality, all ages

Full board is from Sunday to Saturday (6 nights, 7 days)
Price includes one hour English lesson, five days a week. Extra lessons cost €15 per hour.
We provide art materials for art projects and scrapbook, three meals a day, laundry, collection and drop off from Villedieu train station.
Our prices reflect our experience and positive feedback from many happy families over the past nine years.
We're totally dedicated to helping all students of all abilities to gain the confidence to improve and master the English language and to become accustomed to the English culture.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

Breakfast 9am followed by river dog walk.
1-2 hour lesson.
Lunch.
Afternoon activity (arts, baking) or excursion.
Scrapbooking.
Evening meal.
Socialising outdoors with family and animals.
Games/English DVD or television.
10-10.30pm bedtime.
The schedule is flexible depending on day trips.

  • Single room
  • Pets and animals:
    We share our home with three friendly dogs (two rescue) and three affectionate cats (rescue). We kee
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Train station and bus stop 15 mins walk

Paid options organized by the family

  • Language lessons
  • Lessons at home
  • Paid activities
  • Day trip to Jersey (not during covid 19 crisis)
  • Chateau de Falaise, Fougeres or Fontaine Henry
  • Horse Riding
  • Art workshop, stamp making, book binding
  • Zoo
  • Mont St Michel
  • Pottery (Villedieu pottery, qualified teacher)
  • Aquacentre
  • Escapade (indoor climbing)
  • Kayaking
  • Bayeux adventure acrobranches
  • Bowling
  • Villedieu Bell Foundry (guided tour)
  • Bayeux Tapestry
  • D-Day monuments/museums/beaches

Comments of previous guests

Marie Stéphane

Séjour Gaëtan du 9 au 23 Août 2020

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Marie Stéphane
  • -
  • on 2020/31/08

Super famille !! Gaëtan est prêt à repartir pour apprendre l'anglais, ce qui est un exploit Merci à Adèle et sa famille pour leur accueil chaleureux durant tout le séjour et leur l'investissement à lui faire découvrir et pratiquer plein d'activités A bientôt pour les vacances de Pâques :)

Pascale

3ème séjour pour notre fils

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Pascale
  • -
  • on 2020/05/07

3ème séjour pour Marius, 12 ans, dans la famille d'Adèle. Toujours aussi bien accueilli, et content avec des activités variées, de bonnes leçons d'anglais, une semaine bien remplie !

Christine

Excellent séjour

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Christine
  • -
  • on 2020/28/06

Excellent séjour de notre fille de 16 ans auprès d'Adèle et sa fille: de nombreuses activités, des leçons d'anglais adaptées, une cuisine très appréciée. Nous recommandons vivement Adèle

Céline

Expérience enrichissante

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Céline
  • -
  • on 2019/25/07

Dès notre arrivée, nous avons su que Léa passerait un excellent séjour. Beaucoup d'activités et de visites organisées. Je conseille vraiment cette famille très sympathique. Expérience enrichissante.

denis

Irréprochable

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • denis
  • -
  • on 2018/05/02

Nos 2 enfants se sont régalés chez Adele, Andrew et Maya, qui ne manquent pas d'idées pour les occuper tout en leur faisant pratiquer leur anglais. Les activités sont nombreuses et variées, l'immersion est totale et l'accueil est chaleureux. Au bilan, un très agréable séjour pour nos enfants, à la fois ludique et instructif !

View all reviews
Display less reviews

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 660 € / week

Your stay at Adele's home
  • E-mail verified
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
The fees are available on the Reservation page.


Need some help ? Contact us at:     contact@linguifamily.com