Estancia de inmersión lingüística en casa de Mairead

County Longford
Desde 550 € / sem
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Número de teléfono verificado
  • Profesora de idiomas graduada
  • Perfil verificado
  • Carta de Calidad Aceptada

Welcome to Brendan & Mairead's house

BOYS 15-18 YRS

Prices with Lingui Family
We are a family of 5.My husband Brendan and I are retired teachers with 3 grown up kids.Jonathan 23 who works in Berlin,Zoë 20 is studying Law and Alex 18 is in his final year at secondary school

  • Composición de la familia:

  • Mairead (Madre )
  • Brendan (Padre )
  • Alex (Hijo • 18 ans)
  • Zoë (Hijo • 21 ans)
  • Jonathan (Hijo • 24 ans)

Número máx de hosts al mismo tiempo

2 persona(s)
  • Acepta:

  • 10-18 años (chico)

We can host two students of different nationality, no two students will speak the same language, and only English is spoken by all in our home .We prefer a boy 15-18 yrs old.

Yes that's guaranteed.. no other guest will speak the same language..there is total immersion...English is only language spoken in our home .

Actividades propuestas:

Un dia tipico con nosotros

Our days in Summer can vary as its a busy household.We usually get up at 8.30am/9am, depending on
whats happening& the weather!!!. We have breakfast.. traditional Irish breakfast could be porridge or boxty or scrambled eggs and French toast , fry up on Sundays or whatever your preference is.All our meals are home cooked and vary from day to day..Irish Stew/ Chicken casserole/ Roast beef/ Spaghetti Bolognaise/ Curry/ etc .On Fridays we usually get takeaway as a treat!!
You can go for walks/ cycle or shoot basketball hoops.We live in a rural but residential area with beautiful views of the landscape.We have English lessons Mon-Fri (Fees in profile)They further help linguistic immersion and the student gets one to one tuition and a great diversity of topics are covered.
We do hill walks/ fishing trips or a trip to the bog!! Every visitor must experience "the bog".. otherwise known as "saving the turf" which is a fuel traditionally burnt in Irish homes.You can bake yummy cupcakes or learn to make an Irish stew. We visit friends and family also.The Mall is our local Park...beautiful amenity where Brendan and I run and walk and it has soccer pitches too and a swimming pool .
We often go for walks in Derrycassin woods, beautiful woodland area and finish up with hot chocolate at the end.Also the North Commons on the banks of Lough Ree is very beautiful.
You can climb Cairn Hill and see the most magnificent views on a clear day..A trip to Sliabh Bawn is a must,.where you can stand under the tallest wind turbine you could imagine.

There are options for other activities during your stay too.( Fees for these)
1)You can visit Dublin City,
be introduced to all its cultural/ social history and places of interest on a open top bus/ hop on or off as you wish

2)Go karting in Carrick on Shannon where you get a personal timesheet on how you performed and they have a pretty good track too!

3)Visit the Cliffs of Moher with breathtaking scenery and The Burren one of Europe's amazing Karst landscape ....

4)If you like a challenge of your stamina, determination and strength a trip to Zip it in Lough Key Forest Park is a must...You spend the afternoon ziplining through trees in the forest to overcome the obstacle course..each course getting harder!!

5)Maybe you like canoeing or Kayaking or bank jumping at Rooskey Adventure Centre

6)Or a trip to the local cinema but Netflix and popcorn for free at home is a good choice too!

7)We pay a visit to Cavan Museum where you can witness the cultural/ social/ political past of rural Ireland and even real life trenches from WW2/ no man's land , depicting the conditions the allies lived in.

8)A trip to Croke Park to see one of Irelands traditional games ,Gaelic or Hurling being played to the roar of an 85,000 seater stadium.

9) Joining the Mall gym for the month is a very good idea if you like has an all in package... gym, pool/sauna/ steam room.
That's us!!We look forward to having you in our family☘☘

  • Habitación individual
  • Animales domésticos :
    3 kitties
  • Parada de transporte público más cercana:

Opciones de pago organizadas por la familia

My husband and I have taught in secondary education for over 30 years, teaching French,Gaelic, & Geography to ages 12-18 years. We both have experience of being oral examiners for the Dept of Education.
Student will be met in arrivals and returned to airport departure also personally. Fees are outlined in profile

  • Cursos de idiomas
  • Cursos en casa
  • Opciones de pago
  • Go karting
  • Trip to Aran islands
  • Canoeing or Kayaking
  • Trip to Dublin City sightseeing and shopping
  • Trip to Croke Park stadium and ticket
  • Cinema
  • Bowling
  • Gym.. membership for the 4 weeks...gym/ pool/ ste
  • Recogida estación o aeropuerto
  • Dublin Airport

Opiniones de huéspedes anteriores


Séjour inoubliable

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Charlotte
  • -
  • el 20 mar. 2023

Mon fils Charles est revenu enchanté des deux semaines (vacances de février) passées chez Mairead. Il a fait de nombreuses activités en famille. Promenades, randonnée d’après Charles « je n’ai pas chômé » tellement qu’il a le pleins d’activités et de sorties. L’accueil de la famille était très chaleureux. Une famille bienveillante. Charles a passé un séjour mémorable et espère pouvoir retourner dans cette famille à chaque vacance scolaire. Je vous remercie infiniment. Charles remercie chaleureusement la famille et à Mario. Mention spéciale pour Zoé qui a quitté son travail pour venir dire au revoir à Charles.


D'abord un immense Merci...

  • 5/5
  • -
  • Geneviève
  • -
  • el 11 jul. 2022

... à Mairead, certainement l'âme de cette Maison vivante, où l'on sait à la fois générer la joie et aussi recevoir celle des jeunes accueillis. Depuis son retour Yoan (14 ans) ne parle que de retourner l'année prochaine auprès d'eux, et leurs super enfants ,dans ce pays où, dit-il "rien n'est comme ici". Outre sa bonne humeur, la famille Brendan & Mairead aura su aussi être proche et réconfortante lorsque c'était nécessaire. Avec nos remerciements réitérés, nous lui exprimons notre grande et sincère gratitude et lui demandons si possible de bien vouloir garder une place l'an prochain pour Yoan.... Geneviève et Michel W.

Reserve su estancia en completa tranquilidad

Estancia lingüística para todos

  • Un equipo disponible 7 días a la semana
    le protege durante su estancia
  • Los pagos son seguros

Desde 550 € / sem

Tu estancia en la casa de Mairead
PRECIOS y OPTIONES disponibles haciendo clic en el botón RESERVAR.

¿Necesita ayuda?
Hablamos espagnol:
     00 337 49 83 91 44